COMPETITIONS

February Competitions!

FOUR brand-new super-brill books up for grabs this month! And because it’s half term, we’re giving you an extra week to enter. Deadline is FRIDAY 24TH FEB, but don’t put it off – enter now!

Alice Jones: The Ghost Light by Sarah Rubin

alice-jonesOld refurbished theatre, the Beryl, is re-opening. Days before opening night, the ghost light – left on at night to appease the ghosts of actors – is extinguished. Alice digs into the Beryl’s past, sleuthing in a network of dark backstage corridors and cobwebby storage rooms. Gradually, she starts to uncover the hundred-year-old secret of the theatre: a stolen diamond. Is the Beryl haunted by a ghost – or a living thief?

Waiting For Callback: Take Two by Perdita and Honor Cargill

waiting-for-callback-take-two-9781471144851_hrElektra has finally landed a part in a film. It’s the dream. Well … until she works out that Straker is a movie so dystopian that within weeks most of the cast and all of the crew wish that the world had actually ended (preferably in scene one). And while it’s obviously great news that she’s moved from the friend-zone with Archie to become his almost-girlfriend, it would be better if he hadn’t immediately relocated to Transylvania to play a vampire hunter surrounded by ‘maidens of peerless beauty’… Full of humour and warmth, this new series is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and The It Girl.

St Grizzle’s School for Girls, Goats and Random Boys by Karen McCombie

st-grizzles-school-for-girls_karen-mccombie-copyWhen Dani’s mum gets the chance to study penguins in the Antarctic, she decides the best place for eleven-year-old Dani is a strict girls’ boarding school where – uh-oh! – students wear smart uniforms that includes SKIRTS!

Having failed to change Mum’s mind, Dani finds herself having to say goodbye to Granny Viv, her dog Downboy and best friend Arch. But when they arrive at St Grizelda’s it seems that there’s been some drastic changes; gone are the uniforms and the rules, and in are chaos, anarchy and, er, goats. Surely Mum’s not going to leave her at the mercy of a crazy head-butting goat, a bunch of eight-year-olds masquerading as mutant goblins and a head teacher wearing a crown of picnic cutlery?

But as a homesick Dani waits for Mum to make alternative arrangements, the madness of St Grizzle’s begins to warm Dani’s heart…

With a definite whiff of St Trinian’s about it, St Grizzle’s is a laugh-out-loud middle grade read by best-selling author Karen McCombie, perfect for fans of A Murder Most Unladylike and Scarlet and Ivy.

Fenn Halflin and the Fear Zero by Francesca Armour-Chelu

fennIn a world that has been ravaged by flooding, Fenn Halflin learns the truth about his past – a secret that forces him to flee the safety of his home as he is chased across the vast sea by the ruthless Terra Firma and their cold-blooded leader, Chilstone. Finding shelter on a decaying island, Fenn is taken in by child survivors in hiding, and he begins a deadly game of cat-and-mouse with the Terra Firma, who will stop at nothing to find him. But as Chilstone’s dreaded Fearzero ship appears on the horizon, and the water levels continue to rise, it seems that Fenn’s hopes of escape will be washed away for ever.

Girls ♥ Books rules of entry

1. Competitions open to residents of the UK and Eire only.
2. Only one entry per person accepted. If names are repeated using different addresses, those entries will be disqualified, as will over four names at the same address.
3. Parents, teachers, librarians etc all welcome to enter on behalf of children and young people.
4. The winners will be announced on Girls ♥ Books as soon as the draw has been made. No discussion will be entered into.
5. Girls ♥ Books is not responsible for Royal Mail, nor your dog eating the envelope when your book arrives. If there’s anything we can help with, we will, but don’t expect us to work miracles.
6. Personal information is required so that books can be sent to the winners as soon as the draw has been made. The winners’ names and addresses will be passed to the publisher or author who is supplying the books. As soon as the books have been mailed out, all personal information will be deleted from our email systems and from the publishers’ email systems.
7. If you are under 14, please get your parents’ permission to enter our competitions. Better still, get your parents to enter on your behalf if they or you are at all concerned.
8. If you have any questions (or a book you won hasn’t arrived after four weeks), please email us – but be patient as we may not get back to you straight away. We will do our best to chase up any undelivered books with the publishers who are responsible for sending them out.