new books / reading

The Books in my Suitcase…

Well, the summer is upon us (HURRAH!) and, following on from Julie Syke’s post a couple of weeks ago, I wanted to share my summer reading list with you. These are all new books, some published earlier this year, one published this week and another being published at the end of this month. This isn’t a review (because I haven’t read them yet!), it’s an explanation of why I’m REALLY looking forward to reading these particular books…

1. The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow, Katherine Woodfine (June 2015, Egmont)clockwork sparrow I LOVE a mystery, and I love all things quintessentially English, so this looks like my idea of reading heaven – the gorgeously indulgent literary equivalent of a warm scone slathered in clotted cream and strawberry jam… One reviewer described this book as ‘fashionably old-fashioned’ which sounds just my cup of tea. It looks clever, funny and fast-paced, and I love the title too…

lie tree2. The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge (May 2015, Macmillan) I have recently read Frances Hardinge’s weird, terrifying and totally brilliant book, Cuckoo Song. It is probably one of the most genuinely surprising books I have read in a long time, full of dark and sinister twists. Her stories are strong, surreal and, sometimes, nightmarish… I can’t wait to get my hands on her latest strange and spooky title.

3. Go Set A Watchman, Harper Lee (14th July 2015, Heinemann) go set a watchman Like A LOT of other people this summer, I’m going to be reading Harper Lee’s sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird (although Lee actually wrote it before writing what was to become her well-loved classic of American literature). I love her writing, I love reading about this era, and I love the fact that this book feels like long-buried treasure.

darker shade of magic4. A Darker Shade of Magic, V E Schwab (Feb 2015, Titan) Recommended for fans of Neil Gaiman, and I’m certainly one of those (Neverwhere, I think, is probably the Gaiman book this compares most naturally with), and described by one reviewer as a ‘mad cross between Harry Potter and Doctor Who’ (well, that’s right up my strasse). This might be one for slightly older readers as apparently ‘gallons of blood’ are shed and it is at points ‘shockingly dark’… (Quotations from Amazon reviewers). Readers, I shall be brave. It looks like it will be worth it…

5. First Class Murder: A Murder Most Unladylike Mystery by Robin Stevens (30th July 2015, Corgi) first class murder I’m currently reading and thoroughly enjoying the first in Robin Stevens’ Murder Most Unladylike series (I know, I know – I’m shamefully behind the times – but – someone help me! – the pile of books beside my bed has nearly reached the ceiling…). I think her writing is witty, clever and delightfully refreshing. She transports us to the jolly-hockey-sticks world of a 1930s British boarding school in which things are not quite as jolly-hockey-sticks as they might at first seem. I can’t wait to catch up with the series so far…

Well, I’m off to pack my PJs and a toothbrush now – if there’s room for them in the suitcase with all those books… What are you reading this summer? Which books are whispering to you from the towering pile beside your bed?

Lucy Strange’s first novel, Moth and the Nightingale, will be published by Chicken House in 2016.

5 thoughts on “The Books in my Suitcase…

  1. I REALLY hope you have a great holiday Lucy! 😀

    I have to get back into reading my books, these past 8 months, I’ve been working on writing my own story, and I think I need to stop a moment and read a book. 🙂 The last one I read fully, was a book by Linda Chapman, called Best Friends Bakery, Sugar and Spice, and the book version of Cinderella. (the film version,)

  2. Great list, Lucy. I already have Robin’s books and ‘Go Set a Watchman’ but have added the other three to my TBR list as you’ve made them sound so intriguing. x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s